The Universal Language

Shortcut Navigation:


Directed by Sam Green
Producers: Sam Green, Carrie Lozano
Creative/technical collaborator: Dave Cerf
Cinematography: Andy Black
Written and edited by Sam Green and Shannon Kennedy

Original music: T. Griffin with Catherine McRae and Dennis Cronin (aka The Quavers)
Additional music: Dave Cerf, Tone
“Snail Trail of Tears” Written and performed by Eric Bachmann/Barry Black Red Pig Publishing (BMI), courtesy of Alias Records

Additional camera: Rob Humphreys, Colin Blackshear
Location sound: Huntley, Ronald van der Spek
Online editor: Jeffrey Boyette,  Paul Hill, William Lehman
Re-recording mixer: Paul Bercovitch
Telecine: Chris Martin
Colorist: Ayumi Ashley
Motion graphics/design: Rodney Ascher, Mark Christiansen, Chad Freidrichs, Cooper Miller, Carl Williamson
Production assistance: Daniel Agostino, James Blake,  Arwen Curry, John Fong, Caroline Gelb, Martin Tay


Daniel Cuthbert
Mark Decena
Catherine Galasso
Don Loeb
Luisa Rund
Daniel Salomon


Anthony Radziwill Documentary Fund
Esperantic Studies Foundation
Ettinger Foundation
Film Arts Foundation
Guggenheim Foundation
National Endowment for the Arts
Rockefeller Foundation
San Francisco Arts Commission
San Francisco Film Society
The Whitman Institute
Yip Harburg Foundation


Alpha Cine
Filmoj Sen Limoj
Macdowell Colony
Monaco Film and Video
Remedy Editorial - SF
Spypost Digital
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-Mimamiguchi
Yokohama Convention and Visitors Bureau
Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel
Wexner Center for the Arts, The Ohio State University


A/V Geeks
Esperanto Museum, Austrian National Library
Gaumont Pathé Archives
Getty Images
Historic Films
Ivo Lapenna Foundation
National Center for Jewish Film, Brandeis
Netherlands Institute for Sound and Image
Prelinger Archive